The word “die” is in diet for a reason!

I hate dieting! If losing weight was so easy there wouldn’t be so much information online about it.  If you Google “weight loss” you get 52 million hits. There’s a reason for all of the diet advice on the Internet –I think a lot of Americans struggle with their weight like I do.  For me it is not as simple as exercising and taking in less calories.   I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism which makes losing weight even more difficult.  My metabolism is slower than slow.  I also seem to have a problem with portion control.  There are so many diet programs out there I am hoping that I just haven’t found the right one for me. I have tried Weight Watchers, counting calories, and countless other diets, and have not yet been able to reach my weight loss goals. I need to lose 30 pounds for sure but ideally I would like to drop 40 pounds and keep it off. I have had some success before but my weight always seems to yo-yo.  😦

After researching various diet plans, I am thinking of starting the Nutrisystem program. The one thing that attracted me to Nutrisystem most of all is the controlled portions.  The food arrives ready for you to cook and there is no measuring your protein with your food scale.  I have a food scale at home but I get tempted to eat more when I cook because we always have leftovers.  I think the controlled portion sizes would really help me and would not tempt me to eat more since there isn’t a “second helping” readily available. One thing I learned about Nutrisystem is that you supplement their entrees with fresh grocery items (fruit, dairy, salads and vegetables) into your plan so you’re guaranteed the nutrition from these items in addition to the prepackaged Nutrisystem foods.  Per the Nutrisystem Web site their entrees and desserts contain Low-glycemic “good carbs”, Protein, Fiber, Low sodium, Low fat, and No trans fats. 

To be honest one of the initial things that drew me to Nutrisystem was Marie Osmond’s story of how she lost 50 pounds. I have seen her in People magazine and on Entertainment Tonight talking about how pleased she is with her results.  Another person who has been inspiring me to lose weight is my friend Kimberly over at She Scribes who is currently on the Nutrisystem program. I have enjoyed reading her blog about how she is using Nutrisystem to acheive her weight loss goals. 

I am curious if you have tried Nutrisystem and if you like it.  By the way in case you are wondering I am not currently reviewing the Nutrisystem program for my blog but I wouldn’t object if they want to send me a 3-month supply to check it out.

10 Responses to “The word “die” is in diet for a reason!”


  1. 1 Sheilacakes February 17, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I haven’t tried Nutrisystem but I have heard good things about it. I have complete faith in you and wish you the best in obtaining your weight loss goal! I know you can do it with the help from the right system and encouragement!

  2. 2 Nina Say February 17, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    I have always wanted to try Nutrisystem, it seems so simple compared to everything else!

  3. 3 Jess February 18, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Being 9 months pregnant I NEED to go on a diet very soon so would LOVE to read a review of Nutrisystem from a real life person 😉 good luck to you!

  4. 4 Maria February 18, 2010 at 12:51 am

    I don’t have a good reason like you do, but I have a challenging time trying to get the portion control thing down! I always see the Nutrisystem commercials and wonder if they work for us real people, you know? If you do use it, I want to know how it goes for you. I hope that either way, you reach your goals!

  5. 5 Lynsey Jones February 18, 2010 at 1:00 am

    I’ve wanted to try it too – I wish there was some way to like taste test it, LOL, because I know I am not going to stick to it if I dont like it. I do need to lose a little weight before I go on my cruise in October tho! Try it and tell me how it really tastes! LOL I would trust YOU over someone on a commercial that I dont know!

  6. 6 Shop with Me Mama (Kim) February 18, 2010 at 2:45 am

    seems like a pretty good diet. marie osmond had me intrigued too!

  7. 7 Penelope G February 18, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Never tried it, but Osmond does look great. If you try it, you can always keep a log of it, a real person’s perspective (not a celebrity) so we know how well it works. That would be great!

  8. 8 Deal-ectible Mom February 18, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    I have thought of starting nutrisystem..the food looks good! I’d love to hear if it actually is good…let us know!

  9. 9 Jay February 20, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    I have been on the program for almost 2 years (maintaining on my own for about 6 months to a year and I’m telling you, this program works!

    If you are thinking of joining, email me at jdforever32@msn.com and I can help you save an additional $30 off your first month.

    I do hope that try it, I lost 50 lbs and so did my mom. The food is great (most) and the convenience is unbeatable!

    Best of luck!

    Jay

  10. 10 Sara Elizabeth February 25, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    The word die IS in diet. LOL! Too funny. That is why I don’t diet. I am on a weight loss journey, though. I am focusing on eating correct portions, eating enough (I used to skip meals), eating veggies/fruits with every meal, eating more organic, and being physically active. I lost my first 20 pounds in two months starting Dec. of 2009.

    For me, I guess, this journey is about a full on lifestyle that I must live now and forever. I have to always work to keep weight off, so a diet is not realistic for me. I would be on a diet until the day I die. Changing my entire lifestyle and being physically active is working for me, though. I am losing around 2 pounds a week right now.

    I wish you so much luck on your weight loss journey. If you ever need support, you know where to find me. You might also join SparkPeople. I love it there. It’s so supportive, free, full of ideas, etc.

    My SparkPeople page: http://www.sparkpeople.com/mypage.asp?id=SARABONDS


Leave a Reply

My Writing Services Web Site!




The Write Advice Advertises on These Cool Sites!















I am proud to be a:

wordpress visitors

