The Grammar Police: Words that annoy me in blog writing

It’s been a while since I issued some grammar citations.  Today I was inspired after reading Trisha’s post on “The Top 5 Most Overused Words in the Blogosphere” over at MomDot.com. It made me think about how certain words annoy me. A LOT.  As I tell my college students, if you don’t talk that way, don’t write that way.  I realize you are not writing an essay after all – it’s a blog post; but in my opinion, the same rules of good grammar should apply.

Here is my list of the Top 5 words that really get on my nerves when reading other people’s blogs:

  1. Great – “Great” is greatly overused in blog writing.  This is the greatest fill-in-the-blank I have ever used.  This product is great.  My life is great.  Get out a Thesaurus already.
  2. Seriously – This word seriously annoys me.  Seriously. And why is it typically followed by a question mark?
  3. Yummy – I love to read recipe blogs but I will skip yours if you tell me every other dish is yummy.  Or if you review food items and can’t get over how yummy they are.  If my 9-year-old tells me something is yummy I believe her.  If you do – I don’t.
  4. Texting –  Well not the word “texting” but writing your blog posts like a text message like in this example:  Thx 4 visiting my blog.  Have a gr8 day!  Or the overuse of LOL, ROFL, etc.
  5. Whatever – This word topped a recent poll as the most annoying word of 2009.  When it is written in blog posts, it is even more annoying because the shortened version of Whatevs is used.  Whatever. 

What is a word that annoys you?

 

 

 

P.S. Trisha – I really do think you are an influential Mom blogger.  🙂

11 Responses to “The Grammar Police: Words that annoy me in blog writing”


  1. 1 Shan @ Last Shreds Of Sanity February 12, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    LOL Ok, I would agree with this list except that I do use a variation of “seriously” in my everyday speech. I am a child of the 80’s. It’s like me using awesome, totally or grody…it’s ingrained into my vernacular. (I WAS a Valley Girl…don’t ask)

    I DO use an online thesaurus because the overuse of the same word does get annoying after a while. However when I do use alternate words, I get comments saying the reader had to look up half of my post in order to understand it.

    • 2 Annie@Mama Dweeb February 13, 2010 at 12:11 am

      Oh Shan, this comment cracked me up! Isn’t it sad when the “literary” people – bloggers – have to look up words? I write my blog because of my love for writing. That includes my dweebish infatuation with the English language, vocabulary, and – yes – grammar!

      And Christy, your post was dying to be written. Thank you so much for saying what I have been wanting to say for so long. How educated do we sound when we type like this: “Seriously? R U my BFF or what? Whatev. That cake I made was yummy, but yeah, you didn’t think it was great even though I think it is great.” Sounds like my 6th grade niece doesn’t it? Not an enjoyable read by any means!

      I have to admit that when I am writing daily product reviews I click thesaurus.com very frequently. How many ways can I say I love a cloth diaper? Let me count the ways….

  2. 3 Staci A February 12, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Hearing great over and over drives me crazy too. Especially when everything is really, really great! I just want to scream at them to pick a new word.

    I will admit that I over use “seriously” though. But, I’ve been told I say it constantly in real life too. It’s a tough habit for me to break!

  3. 4 Susan February 12, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Guilty as charged. Thanks for letting me know, haha (can I say that?). Great, ah, excellent post!

  4. 5 Stefanie February 12, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    So funny, I don’t usually write ‘seriously’ in my posts but in every day life I use it a lot!!! And usually as a question. And I am way overly guilty of using ‘lol’ and ‘lmao’! 😉

  5. 6 Sarah, Ohana Mama February 12, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Ack! I’m guilty of a few of those! whoops!

  6. 7 Jayme February 12, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    This post is great, seriously.

  7. 8 Brandy February 12, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Oh but darn I didn’t miss making this list lol (which I hate using that word in my posts but still do). Great post though.

  8. 9 Laura @ MsWonka.com February 13, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    No punctuation annoys the crap out of me, i.e., typing “its” when it should be it’s” or typing “dont” when it should be “don’t”.

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

  9. 10 Heather {Desperately Seeking} March 2, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    I’m guilty of seriously….

    but in my defense, I use that, with a question mark even, in my every day life. Just ask my kids… 😉

  10. 11 NotthePoPo October 12, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    How is “Seriously.” a sentence?


Leave a Reply

My Writing Services Web Site!




The Write Advice Advertises on These Cool Sites!















I am proud to be a:

wordpress visitors

