Going Deeper Still

myfriendsThis weekend I had the wonderful opportunity to attend the Deeper Still conference in Greensboro with some of my dear friends from church. We were all inspired by the words of Beth Moore, Kay Arthur and Priscilla Shirer, and the music by Travis Cottrell. As I mentioned last week, this trip was very difficult for us because our friend Lois was unable to attend as she was in the hospital in a coma. Our group visited Lois on our way to the conference and with heavy hearts said a prayer over her in the ICU room before leaving.  I even spiked up Lois’s hair while I was there because she always had her hair fixed. Her sister Pam made us promise to have a good time at the conference because it is what Lois would have wanted. Sadly, Lois passed away a few hours after our visit- on Friday, August 1, 2009. She was 48.

Today I had the opportunity to speak at Lois’s Memorial service and celebration of her life. Lois was a very special person and I will miss her dearly for the rest of my life. Below is part of the eulogy I gave. Please continue to pray for Lois’s family during this difficult time.

At the Deeper Still conference, each one of us felt Lois’s presence in different ways. Whether it was the words someone said, a song that was sung, or a person who reminded us of Lois, we felt like she was there with us. On Saturday morning, Priscilla Shirer opened her message by saying that many of us are dealing with unexpected things we thought we would never have to encounter. She then went on to tell about how she had gotten an email from a Bible study group that was supposed to have seven ladies attending but only five were there. She talked about how two sisters had bought their tickets back in January but how on Wednesday one of the sisters named Lois had gone to the hospital for help with back pain and while there lost her pulse and slipped into a coma. “Can you imagine sitting here without your friend?,” Priscilla said. “How hard that would be to leave her and come here?” “Well there is a group of five women here today feeling and experiencing that emotion,” she said. Priscilla went on to deliver a very compelling message about the ability and power of God. She told us that now is the time to look at the ability of God right in the middle of impossible and unexpected circumstances. God doesn’t just have power, she said, He IS power. And now because of God’s power, the 11,000 people at the Greensboro Coliseum that day were touched by Lois’s story.

5 Responses to “Going Deeper Still”


  1. 1 Jenna August 5, 2009 at 12:40 am

    I am still very sorry for your loss. I can tell Lois was an amazing woman and friend to I’m sure everyone she met. My prayers are with all of you during this tragic time. (((HUGS)))

  2. 2 Cheryl August 5, 2009 at 2:01 am

    I’m so very sorry, Christy. I really hope things get a little bit easier, it’s never easy to lose someone you love and are close with. Wishing you comfort and peace during this tragic event. **HUGS**

  3. 3 Stefanie August 5, 2009 at 2:14 am

    I’m so sorry for your loss! There aren’t even words to explain the sympathy we all feel for you and all of her family and friends. I’m sure she was listening to you that day and smiling. Just realizing that she made an impact on so many lives. You are all still in my prayers! ((hugs)) Christy!

  4. 4 Trish August 5, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Christy, I don’t even know what to say. I am so sorry for the loss of Lois, but take comfort in knowing that God must have had a plan for her and wanted her home with Him for some reason. (((HUGS!)))

  5. 5 Mom August 5, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    I’m sure Lois and your Dad have already had lots of conversations about you. Knowing your Dad, I’m assured he’s told her the “green bean” story and I’m sure she’s shared with your Dad some stories about you. They’re probably both still laughing.


Leave a Reply

My Writing Services Web Site!




The Write Advice Advertises on These Cool Sites!















I am proud to be a:

wordpress visitors

