Mommy Guilt

JuneCleaverThis week my friend Trisha from Sweet ‘N Sassy Girls wrote a fantastic post entitled, “Moms, Why Do We Feel Guilty.”  She talked very eloquently about how Moms feel guilty when they want to take some time away from their kids for a little “me” time.  This is from her post:

My question is, why do we feel so guilty about having some time to ourselves? We come back refreshed and a better mom/wife/person. We are more relaxed after, and happier. What’s that saying? When momma ain’t happy, ain’t no one happy?

I definitely agree that as Moms we carry a sense of  guilt around if we want to spend some time by ourselves or with friends, without our kids.  And I think that is unfortunate.  Everyone deserves some time to recharge their batteries. It will make you a better Mom and a better person.

Another area where I think we experience “Mommy Guilt” is with housework.  I will admit that I am not the best housekeeper in the world and I often feel guilty because I am not June Cleaver material.  If I fix the Little Write Gal pizza rolls instead of a meat and three vegetables for supper I feel guilty.  I feel guilty when the house is a mess and she wants me to stop cleaning to watch a movie with her.  Does it really matter in the long run if there are toys in your living room, dishes in the sink, or if your child’s room is a mess?  No it doesn’t.  Because one day when our children are gone and are away at college or living on their own I am sure I would give anything to see a little toy scattered on my floor. 

Take a few hours away from your kids to refresh yourself and don’t feel guilty about it.  Don’t worry about the dishes in the sink when your child asks you to play with them. Say goodbye to Mommy Guilt.

3 Responses to “Mommy Guilt”


  1. 1 Rhea July 17, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I agree with you here sister! I feel so bad about going to the store with out any kids. I always feel I need to take them with me…but I want to go by myself!
    *ugh*

  2. 2 Trish July 17, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I so know what you mean about the housework! I am terrible at doing it too. It’s just not the top of my list. Good for you for not feeling guilty anymore!

  3. 3 Cascia @ Healthy Moms July 18, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    I can sure relate to this. Especially as a WAHM. I work from home because I want to be with my kids and be the one to raise them, but at the same time I feel guilty because at least 8 hours of my day is spent in front of my computer working instead of giving my kids the attention they crave. But if I don’t work then I can’t get groceries for my kids so I feel guilty again. It’s a vicious cycle.


Leave a Reply

My Writing Services Web Site!




The Write Advice Advertises on These Cool Sites!















I am proud to be a:

wordpress visitors

