Mom Bloggers’ Tools for Writing a Media Kit

kitWhen I first started my writing services Web site last summer, I never anticipated that I would have other bloggers as clients. One of my most requested writing projects these days is a blog Media Kit.  If you are a blogger you may be wondering what a Media Kit is or why you need one.  Basically, think of a Media Kit as a resume for your blog. It is a package of information that introduces your blog to interested advertisers and answers their questions about it.  In addition to providing advertising information, it can explain your policies related to writing reviews or hosting giveaways on your blog. 

I wanted to offer you the “tools” you need to write your own Media Kit!

  1. Contact information.  Make sure you include your contact information at the beginning of your Media Kit letting a PR rep or company know how to contact you.  If you routinely write reviews or host giveaways on your blog it is a good idea to include your mailing address so they can send product(s) to you without having to filter though various emails to locate your information. I would also include this again at the end of your Media Kit.
  2. Blog profile. In this section you will describe your blog, your blog content, and yourself. It is very important in a Media Kit to state clearly what your blog is about as well as your subject matter.  Be sure to answer what exactly is your niche, and which part of your niche your blog is most focused on.  You want to explain why are you a good fit with a potential company or PR representative and how you can add value to a campaign.
  3. Press. If your blog has been mentioned or featured in the media (actual media not “blog awards” from other bloggers), you should list the publication you were featured in and the date it was published. If you have a direct link or screen shot of the article, you should provide it in this section.
  4. Blog Statistics.  In this section you will want to include any statistics for your blog such as your unique monthly visitors, number of page views, number of subscribers, Google Page Rank, etc.  If you are on Twitter, then I would also list your number of followers.  Companies are understanding more and more the importance of social media. If you use Twitter to market your blog then they know this means additional exposure for their company.
  5. Reviews and Giveaways. A Media Kit is a great way to communicate your policies concerning reviews and giveaways.  Make sure in this section you include your policies relating to hosting them on your blog including any fees if applicable.  If you require the company to ship the item to the winner of your giveaway be sure and include that information as well.
  6. Advertising.  One of the main reason bloggers use media kits is to try and secure advertisers for their blog.  If you accept advertisements, you will need to explain clearly the size of ads you accept (125×125, 468×60, 300×250, text ads, etc.) as well as the correlating costs.  Be sure to include your methods of payment you accept such as PayPal, money orders, etc.  Personally I only accept PayPal as payment. If you write advertorials, include information relating to cost, maximum word length, number of photos, etc.
  7. Proofread. Proofread. Proofread.  I cannot stress enough the importance of ensuring your Media Kit is free from spelling and grammar errors.  A company is not going to take you seriously if your Media Kit is laced with errors.  The same thing holds true with your blog as well.  Your writing should be flawless.

Finally, I want to address the number one question I get asked about writing a Media Kit and that is whether to include  it as an attachment on your blog. Personally I choose not to do so because I do not want the general public to know my stats or my advertising rates. I do, however, send out my Media Kit whenever I send a pitch to a company or when it is requested by a PR Rep or company. It is acceptable on your blog to include that you have a Media Kit available and that you would be glad to send it out upon request.

For more information, Mom Bloggers Club has an excellent template on writing your blog Media Kit. Or if you don’t want to write it yourself, you can always hire me to do it for you.  In addition to writing Media Kits, I also write press releases, Web site content, marketing brochures and more.  Please feel free to contact me for a free quote.

5 Responses to “Mom Bloggers’ Tools for Writing a Media Kit”


  1. 1 Kendahl May 29, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Great tips, thank you! I will be coming back to this when I get around to writing mine. 🙂

  2. 2 Andrea @ Red Knows How May 31, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Fantastic tips, I just redid my media kit and I’m going to go back through with these tips to make it absolutely right!

  3. 3 Kitty | Coupon Divas July 31, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Thank you for the excellent information. I have a media kit that I need to update so this really helps.

    Kitty

  4. 4 Dee@CWM November 8, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Great Article. Thanks for the info. Could you email me your pricing on the media kit. I may be in need of your services.


  1. 1 9 Resources to Help You Write Your Media Kit — Scraps of My Geek Life Trackback on May 4, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Leave a Reply

My Writing Services Web Site!




The Write Advice Advertises on These Cool Sites!















I am proud to be a:

wordpress visitors

