Is Weight Loss One of Your Goals for 2009?

oprah1

Recently Oprah made headlines again about her weight when she announced that it was back up to 200 pounds.  The January 2009 issue of O Magazine on the stands now includes an in-depth article from Oprah explaining her recent medical problems and a diagnosis of hypothyroidism. Hypothyroidism is when you have an under-active thyroid which can cause weight gain, dry skin, and make you feel sluggish.  IF you are trying to lose weight and you are having problems, consider having your thyroid level checked.  I was also diagnosed with hypothyroidism a few years ago and let me tell you since then it has been harder than ever to lose a pound.  I am now on medication for it but I feel like my metabolism has never been the same since then.  At least now I know the reason.  You can read more information about thyroid problems and weight gain here.

 P.S. to Ash — I know you dislike Oprah but you have to admit she does have some informative articles in her magazine.  🙂

 If you are trying to lose weight in 2009 (like me) then good luck!

8 Responses to “Is Weight Loss One of Your Goals for 2009?”


  1. 1 Ashley January 1, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    You are correct…I don’t like Oprah…futhermore, I don’t read her articles or ones she suggests and would not spend my $$$ on her magazine.
    vomit 🙂

  2. 2 Beth January 1, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    I have been told I am borderline hypothyroid. I was put on some medicine and it made me CRAZY so I am ok to stay borderline. This issue is one reason I don’t like fluoride added to water. Too much fluoride effects your thyroid function.

  3. 3 Bridgette January 1, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    If anyone is trying to lose weight in ’09 and needs a support group and extra motivation, check out “Think Thin Thursdays” on The Not-So-Blog (www.thenotsoblog.com)!

    Good Luck!

  4. 5 Alyce January 1, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    I’m hypothyroid too, but for the most part have been doing well with medicine. Thankfully they figured out what was wrong with me right away. From the time I started being weak and sleeping 17 hours a day until diagnosis was about a month. I’m so thankful that I didn’t go undiagnosed for longer.

  5. 6 Cari from ditch diets January 2, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Anyone whose New Year’s resolution is to loose weight is starting off from the wrong place: Start off with your resolution to GAIN HEALTH and weight loss can be a side effect of that! Losing weight isn’t always healthy and according to the Laws of Attraction, if you keep focussing on losing weight, you have to create more weight to lose.

  6. 7 Jacqueline January 3, 2009 at 11:20 am

    I visit this blog all the time and just had to comment of this one — I haven’t watched Oprah for years but plan to be parked in front of the tube on Monday to see how she addresses all this. I like Dr. Northrup and hope she doesn’t get thrown under the bus, but who knows?

  7. 8 Mom January 3, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    First of all, my heart goes out to anyone who has a thyroid problem. I hate to tell you, but the older you get the harder it is to lose weight. I bought two pair of pants this week in the size I normally wear and I could get neither pair to zip. I resolved right then that I would cut back especially on my weakness-sweets. It doesn’t make it any easier when your Dad puts chocolate in my face and I have to refuse. Isn’t it amazing how a man can eat anything he wants and never gain a pound? I’m sorry, but I have to agree with Ashley when it comes to Oprah.


Leave a Reply

My Writing Services Web Site!




The Write Advice Advertises on These Cool Sites!















I am proud to be a:

wordpress visitors

