Avoid These Writing Mistakes

I don’t want to have to change my name to The “Giveaway Gal” or “Shopping Gal,” so I thought I would do another post about writing tips for my faithful readers out there who like to improve their writing skills. Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE all of my giveaways going on now and my gracious sponsors.  But I need to give writing some time too.

What I really wanted to call this post was “If You Make These Writing Mistakes I am Coming After You,” but that looked way too bunched as a blog header.  But believe me when I say that I will come after you if I catch these mistakes on your blog or Web site.  Now I know people listen to me although sometimes they don’t post my comment.  But they take my advice as I soon notice the error got magically corrected.  🙂

Here goes..more writing tips from The Write Gal.  Grammar pitfalls to avoid:

  • Its or It’sIts is a possessive personal pronoun.  The company values its customersIt’s is a contraction for “it is” or “it has.”  It’s the first day of school.
  • Between or Among – Use between when referring to two persons or things and use among when referring to more than two persons or things.  The prize was distributed equally between the two winners.  The workload was divided among all of the company employees.
  •  Who or Whom –  If referring to the subject of a sentence, use whoWho won that contest? If referring to the object of a sentence, clause, or prepositional phrase, use whomThis is the person whom I met yesterday.  TIP:  When using who or whom, rephrase by using the words he or him.  If the sentence makes sense with he, use who.  It is it makes sense with him, use whomHe won that contest.  I met him yesterday. 

You might think the use of the above words is common sense, but believe me when I say it’s not.  If there are any words or phrases you would like clarified, leave me a comment and I will be glad to explain their usage in a future blog post.

Happy Writing!

12 Responses to “Avoid These Writing Mistakes”


  1. 1 swirl girl August 18, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Irregardless about who you are righting, it’s all good among friends!
    – good grammar is important!

    haha (I am a word nerd, too!)

  2. 2 Lori@The Charming Lamb August 18, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I love the who/whom trick!

    I found a type…but I’m not gonna tell you where. I know it will drive you MAD. LOLOLOLOLOL

  3. 3 Janis August 18, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Lori’s not the only one! After I read her comment, it drove me crazy until I finally found it. 🙂 Happy hunting, Write Gal. (Or did you that on purpose to see if we were paying attention?) Love ya!!

  4. 4 thewritegal August 18, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    A typo on MY blog??? THANKS Lori. Seriously those giveaways are corrupting my brain. Janis I wanted to say I did that on purpose but I didn’t!!! I guess The Write Gal isn’t always perfect either LOL!

  5. 5 Mom August 18, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Maybe you should give a prize for who finds your mistake. I’ve read it over and over and I still don’t see it!

  6. 6 Nessa August 19, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Thanks for sharing your knowledge! I am awful about writing without slowing down and reading what I’ve written. I know I make a lot of mistakes.

  7. 7 Sheri August 19, 2008 at 2:06 am

    Typos drive me crazy! I used to edit documents for a living way back when, and now I can’t read anything without mentally editing it. I’ve also done some writing of my own, and will obsessively go over it until I’m satisfied.

    I’m also driven crazy by net speak, and refuse to use it if I text anybody.

    Some of my grammar/spelling pet peeves:

    loose instead of lose – “I need to loose weight.”
    payed instead of paid

    When someone, trying to sound grammatically correct, says something like “Would you like to go with David and I to the mall?”

    I could go on and on…

  8. 8 ann August 19, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Try being a middle school teacher, it’s a lifetime of nails on the chalk board. All day, every day! (frag)

  9. 9 Kathi August 19, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Just finally stopping by from SITS to say congratulations on being Saucy!!!

    PS. That lunchbox from your previous post is adorable!!

  10. 10 Michelle August 22, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Here’s one I cant figure out:
    suppose to OR
    supposed to

  11. 11 Elizabeth August 23, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Great advice! I’ve never heard the who/whom before!

  12. 12 Jess @ NBP/MomDot October 18, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I always have to think to myself about those and a few others. LOL Thanks Christy.


Leave a Reply

My Writing Services Web Site!




The Write Advice Advertises on These Cool Sites!















I am proud to be a:

wordpress visitors

