In Search of the Perfect Bag

I honestly think the “perfect bag” is  an oxymoron.  For the past six months I have been in search of a stylish oversized handbag that I can use to carry my textbooks when I go to work.  Most of the other college instructors I know wheel around a suitcase and it looks like I am working at an airport, not a college.  Maybe they are carrying around the suitcases because they can’t find the perfect bag either.  I have purchased a whopping total of five bags and returned them all. 

This NEVER happens to me.  Usually people are coming to me for shopping advice, not the other way around.  So all of you people who have been helped by the Write Gal before, how about reciprocating?  I am trying to find a bag that is at least 16″ (L) x 16″ (W) x 5″ (D), preferably in black or brown or a mixture of the two.  I have a whopping four textbooks and two notebooks to carry at all times this semester.  Since I teach only part-time I don’t have an actual  office where I can go stash some books between classes, I need them all with me.  I have checked my favorite sites, Endless, Zappos, Shoebuy, Amazon, Bluefly, etc.  I have also hit all of the major department stores around as well as my favorite discount stores Ross and Marshalls.

HELP!  The semester starts in two weeks.  And I apologize if I offended any suitcase carriers.  That look is just not me.

Happy Shopping (I wish)!

3 Responses to “In Search of the Perfect Bag”


  1. 1 Karen August 4, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Ok..I’ve offered you 2 PERFECT choices for your “stylish professor” handbag! You are way picky..missy!!! Guess you could steal the Papa Johns Pizza delivery bag from your delivery boy next time he rings your doorbell!!! :):) When I googled your bag dimensions, that’s what came up …. a pizza delivery bag!! Luv Ya!

  2. 2 Cathy August 5, 2008 at 1:32 am

    This probably isn’t as stylish as you wish, but it would sure be big enough — have you thought of the Lands’ End totes? You could have it monogrammed. 🙂

  3. 3 Jennifer Smith August 13, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    BTW – sign up for my blog updates cause this blog about needing a bag may be answered by my next giveaway… hint-hint shhhhh!


Leave a Reply

My Writing Services Web Site!




The Write Advice Advertises on These Cool Sites!















I am proud to be a:

wordpress visitors

