What I Have Learned About Blogging – So Far…

After just one week of blogging, I have to say I wish I would have tried it sooner.  Here are a few things I have learned as a blogging baby:

  • You don’t have to be an expert to be a blogger –  Ever thought about blogging before but were too scared to give it a try?  Don’t be!  I have been amazed at how simple it is.  Whether you are using WordPress, Blogger, or another blogging system, there are plenty of resources out there to help you as you go along.   I love using WordPress because of all of the Help Pages, Forums, & FAQ’s. Another great resource is the blogging expert Lorelle on WordPress.  Even if you aren’t a WordPress blogger, Lorelle has plenty of blogging tips that you will find to be helpful. 
  • Don’t get intimidated by all of the lingo– I have to say I still don’t have a clue as to the difference between a trackback or a pingback.  Flickr, widget, HTML, Meta, WHAT???  Try not to let the technical terms scare you or keep you from starting your blog.  You can learn as you go.  You don’t have to be a “techie” to be a blogger.
  • Remember Quality vs. Quantity – You might be hesitant to blog because of a fear of running out of things to say.  It is more important to have quality blog entries that communicate to your audience rather than incessant ramblings just to fill your blog.  Also, before you begin blogging it is a good idea to know generally what you are going to blog about.  For the Write Gal I picked my two favorite subjects which happen to be writing and shopping.  That is not to say that I may not digress and occasionally post about something else, but to me consistency creates credibility in the blogging world.  I would personally much rather read a blog that is topical on a consistent basis rather than a random one that posts about the weather or whatever topic is on that person’s brain for the day.

 

Happy Blogging!

 

0 Responses to “What I Have Learned About Blogging – So Far…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My Writing Services Web Site!




The Write Advice Advertises on These Cool Sites!















I am proud to be a:

wordpress visitors

